Every Student Has A Story

University of Haifa International School Student Blog

שוקו And my conclusion of my semester abroad

I had a teacher in high school that would say that beginning a paper with a quote was a cliché. Now, I can see why. It can be hard to begin with such a big idea and than narrow it to something so small that is almost microscopic. My time in Haifa, which in itself was microscopic, a mere three months is coming to a close. Today, for instance I sat in a café on the edge of Wadi Nisnas (one of the many amazing neighborhoods in Haifa) and worked on my final papers. In between the banging on my keyboard, I sipped on an iced שוקו aka Israeli chocolate milk. My time in Haifa has become like this sweet drink. I crave שוקו and wonder when I will be able to experience Israel again as a young adult. I then realize that soon, I will be back in my beloved New York City, yearning for a chance to return to Israel.

Most reflections come with a recap of what happened in which they occured,  but I believe to do my time in Haifa justice, I should say 5 things that really shaped my experience in Israel.

  1. Traveling to Tzfat on my own for Shabbat and taking part in a Livnot Shabbaton
  2. Spending Shabbat with my family in Jerusalem
  3. Hiking to the top of the Nimrod Fortress in the Golan
  4. Expanding my world view by taking classes in topics that were literally foreign territory to me before coming to Israel
  5. Experiencing Cafe culture – Fattoush, Cafe HaBank and Rai are my top 3 with no paticular preference!

The last three months have flown by and I am so happy I got to share my adventures in the library, on the bus, cooking on my two-burner hot plate, and Holocaust Memorial Day with you! I am looking forward to returning to Israel in the next two years and sharing my memories with those who may have not read this blog upon my return home. This semester was truly incredible! I now wonder, what would my teacher say if I began this blog post with the classic saying, “All good things must come to an end.” Do all good things really have to come to an end? If you ask Ben Gurion, the first prime minister of Israel he would argue, “In Israel, in order to be a realist you must believe in miracles.” ! להתראות

choco

 

Julia Kaback is a a junior, American Studies major at Connecticut College where she writes for The Experience Blog and The College Voice about her experiences. This semester Julia is studying History, Political Science, and Hebrew at The international School.

About haifainternationalschool

Marketing Director for the University of Haifa International School. Offering students from over 40 countries around the world an academic summer,semester or yearlong opportunity in Haifa!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 114,819 other followers

Contact Us

Tel: 972-4-824-0766
http://uhaifa.org/
info@mail.uhaifa.org
Skype: haifainternationalschool
Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIN, YouTube
