Every Student Has A Story

University of Haifa International School Student Blog

Shabbat in Israel and Homesick

By Dan Luiton, a student at the Study Abroad program at the International School.

I will lie if I say that I’m not homesick anymore, but I have been homesick every single day since my last post. Yet, Israel is an amazing country that even thought sometimes I feel homesick it makes me feel home. Because Israel has something unique that the develop countries forget once they became develop, strong family values! Israel is becoming everyday more develop, but it keeps its family values. Before the Shabbat in Israel, there is usually traffic between cities which can be annoying but this because many Israelis go home to sit together for dinner at the end week. Yeah, this action may have religious tradition, but most of them are non-religious and do it because they really want to see their families. This reminds me of my Mexican culture that we also have strong family values. It is sad that as we develop as a country we are losing this important value like other develop countries have. We don’t have to loose it too we can follow the example of Israel, and be develop and not loose our family values.

The reason for these post is that this weekend I was invited by my roommate to his house this weekend made me missed home so much, but at the same time him and his family hospitality made feel home. From having a shabbat dinner and eating: Morrocon Salad, Russian Salad, Israeli schnitzel, Hummus, and other great plates. To having conversation with my roommates mom’s and brother’s made me feel home. 

 

 

 

About haifainternationalschool

Marketing Director for the University of Haifa International School. Offering students from over 40 countries around the world an academic summer,semester or yearlong opportunity in Haifa!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 114,819 other followers

Contact Us

Tel: 972-4-824-0766
http://uhaifa.org/
info@mail.uhaifa.org
Skype: haifainternationalschool
Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIN, YouTube
