Every Student Has A Story

University of Haifa International School Student Blog

Stereotypes and Brainwashing

2

Before I came to here l I had a really bad impression of Israel and Israelis in general. I thought they were horrible people because they violate and legalize human rights and specially they are mean to the Palestinians. Moreover, I always said that if I ever become president my first foreign policy action will be to a statement like “US does not recognize the state of Israel, and we cutting all funding to them.” In other words, I just didn’t like the state to be, really strong words I almost hated without even knowing the country. Yet, for some reason I end up Israel. Furthermore, my first month here in Israel was not really pleasant due to the new culture I was encountering, I thought everyone was rude they don’t smile, not a good customer service.
Yet, a month later a got new roommates. I don’t know what happen when I met them it was nothing that they did or nothing that said it was the feeling that made me change my perspective in Israel. One day, when I came back from school to the dorm I started walking to my room and Asaf, my new roommate was moving in. I didn’t expect for him to said more than just a “hello.” However, he wanted to know me and started to have a conversation with me ask me where I am from, what I’m doing here and so on. But it was not really about what we talk about, it was his friendliness of trying to get to know me with such anopen attitude to me. I don’t know how to describe him but it made me feel welcome for the first time since I got to Israel. Yet, not only him but the next day my other roommate Idan was really similar to him. When I meet them my whole view on Israel change drastically, its hard to believe that two people can make you change a view of a whole country. Moreover, they also made me feel not homesick at all because their welcoming environment made me feel home. I think they are unique people that I don’t meet everyday. The craziest thing is that we have became really good friends in such short period of time

1

 

About haifainternationalschool

Marketing Director for the University of Haifa International School. Offering students from over 40 countries around the world an academic summer,semester or yearlong opportunity in Haifa!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 23, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 114,844 other followers

Contact Us

Tel: 972-4-824-0766
http://uhaifa.org/
info@mail.uhaifa.org
Skype: haifainternationalschool
Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIN, YouTube
