Every Student Has A Story

University of Haifa International School Student Blog

The Small Things in Life

img_5575

Last weekend I had one of the adventures that I anticipated on happening. Prior to coming to Israel to embark on my study abroad journey, I found out that my grandma would be coming on a tour here in Israel in November. Since I knew that she would be going to Israel, I decided not to tell her that I would be studying abroad here for a year in hopes that I would find her and surprise her. So, three months later she arrived in Israel and my anticipation to surprise her became a mission. She arrived on the 2nd in Tel-Aviv and I knew that the next day she was supposed to visit Tiberius and Nazareth. So, on Thursday in the afternoon I took a bus to Nazareth and I was anxious because I was not sure if I would find her. However, I figured it would be relatively easy to find her in Nazareth since it is not as big as other cities and I knew the exactly places she would be visiting. When I arrived there, I went to the Basilica of the Annunciation and waited until I realized that on the itinerary for her tour group it said that they would be stopping there in the morning-I was there in the afternoon and missed her. After being in Nazareth for only an hour I hopped back on the bus to return to Haifa. I saw that the group would be going to Jerusalem on Sunday so I figured I would find her there- it would just be more work. On Sunday morning I woke up early and got ready for day two of searching for my grandma. I arrived to Jerusalem and making sure I knew what the itinerary said, I walked to the places that the group would be visiting backwards so I would run into her. It was harder than it seemed so I decided to sit down at the Church of the Holy Sepulcher and simply wait. I contacted my mom and she had told me at that moment that my grandma was at the Dead Sea but that afterwards she would go to the Mount of Olives. So after waiting there for about two hours, I walked around, got something to eat and when the evening was approaching I walked to the top of the Mount of Olives to wait for my grandma there. I knew for sure that I was going to find her. I sat patiently as I enjoyed the amazing view of the old city of Jerusalem, and I watched as one group arrived after another but my grandma’s tour group did not. After about three hours I called my mom and then she told me that my grandma would not go today because it was too late for them so they would go tomorrow on Monday. I laughed at myself because I was almost sure that I would find her that day but I ended up returning to Haifa since I had class the next morning. I was so exhausted and I realized that it was harder than it seemed. However, I decided to give it one last try and I returned to Jerusalem after class. I walked to the Mount of Olives and I had no idea where I would find my grandma since it was clear that the itinerary changed; but, I did have the address of the hotel the group was staying at and I found out I was able to call my grandma. So, I called and asked her how she was doing, she told me she was in Israel, I told her it was my dream to go there…to make the story short I made it seem as if I was at my home university and I found out that she was going to have a dinner at the hotel in an hour. I walked myself there, and was able to get her room number and one of the group members walked with me there and I surprised her! She was happy to see me, I told her the whole story, and I was able to join her group for a lovely dinner. Afterwards, I walked her back to the hotel said my see you later and returned to Haifa. It was a success and I felt very accomplished and as I walked away smiling I said to myself, “It’s the small things in life that make it a greater joy.”

20161107_202324

About haifainternationalschool

Marketing Director for the University of Haifa International School. Offering students from over 40 countries around the world an academic summer,semester or yearlong opportunity in Haifa!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 14, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 114,844 other followers

Contact Us

Tel: 972-4-824-0766
http://uhaifa.org/
info@mail.uhaifa.org
Skype: haifainternationalschool
Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIN, YouTube
