Every Student Has A Story

University of Haifa International School Student Blog

Some Homesickness Abroad

20161019_150655

Month 3 in Israel is just around the corner and I was finally beginning to become homesick. I knew this would come sooner or later because it is a completely normal phase that comes when being away from home. I usually begin to feel homesick around the month of November since the holidays begin around this time back at home. However, I’ve embraced being homesickness abroad since I know it is a part of what makes my abroad experience, an experience. Somethings that I’ve done to help my homesickness is spend time with friends, and explore more of what is hidden in the city and the country I am in. Generally, what helps me is getting distracted because once I am caught up in all the amazing things that one runs in to, I forget what homesickness is; besides you never know what you can find. For example during my vacation here I went to Tel Aviv with some friends and as we walked through the Carmel Market, I was lucky enough to find Sabroso an authentic Mexican restaurant. The ambience was great, the food was delicious, and it really was a piece of home for me. It was one of the best days I’ve had in Israel and I was not expecting to find something like this. Another thing that I also like to do is cook with friends. When I do things like this it gives me and everyone else the opportunity to introduce some type of dish from their home. We eat, explore new food, and on top of it all it brings people together. Being back in class after a long vacation has also helped since I now have to focus on my school work. However, this has not stalled my fun, there is still a lot to learn and much to explore. I guarantee myself this because just after being here for three months, I am amazed at what I have been able to learn about the language, the culture, other people, and even myself. Studying abroad, traveling, and just getting out of your comfort zone really allows you to grow.  All in all, my study abroad experience has been great and life is good!

20161019_153518

About haifainternationalschool

Marketing Director for the University of Haifa International School. Offering students from over 40 countries around the world an academic summer,semester or yearlong opportunity in Haifa!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 1, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 114,820 other followers

Contact Us

Tel: 972-4-824-0766
http://uhaifa.org/
info@mail.uhaifa.org
Skype: haifainternationalschool
Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIN, YouTube
