Every Student Has A Story

University of Haifa International School Student Blog

I will never forget this group of friends for the rest of my life.

It is already 30 days that I have been back from my wonderful experience in Haifa, but my heart, I’m afraid, is still there!

img-20160927-wa0006

I went to Haifa on a scholarship to study at the Intensive Hebrew Ulpan at the University of Haifa and I was there from 8th to 31th August.I come from Italy, therefore I’m Italian, but I’m Israelian too. I travel to Israel every summer because part of my family live there, however, this was the first time I spent time alone in Israel without any friends or relatives.Initially, I thought I would only speak in Hebrew, which I call my “comfort zone”, but I ended up speaking in English with the other students 90% of the time. It was definitely an International School and I met a lot of people from many countries such as Croatia, Switzerland, Spain, Mexico, the USA, Japan, China, Norway, Turkey, Lebanon, Netherlands, Belgium and Germany, just to name a few. I spent time with these students in the classroom, in the dorms and also around the campus. Most of the time we would go to the beach together or on a day trip. Spending so much of our days together led us to become a sort of family. I will never forget this group of friends for the rest of my life.

I am still in contact with these friends and we keep in touch almost every day, updating each other about our daily lives, even just for a “שבת שלום”. It’s great to know I now have this big multi-cultural family, whom for sure I will go to visit as soon as I can.
Before this summer course, I didn’t have any problems speaking in Hebrew because my mother has spoken to me in Hebrew since I was a child. What I didn’t know how to do was read very well in capital letters or write in cursive.

img-20160927-wa0005

For this reason I did a Placement Test. But even so, it wasn’t easy to find the right class for me. Mina Ben Meir and The Ulpan Teachers did a great job with me. For the first few days I was in the beginner’s class in order to learn the alphabet better. Then, on the 3rd day I was moved into a class two levels higher where I studied grammar and learnt how to write.

During the entire month I studied a lot. I did homework in the afternoons, worked on a project with two other classmates (who became friends), and I also studied for a mid-term and final exam. Obviously, everything was in Hebrew!
I still haven’t received the result of my exam, but in any case I certainly learnt a lot and had two terrific teachers: Sara Lee and Ruthy Norani.

About haifainternationalschool

Marketing Director for the University of Haifa International School. Offering students from over 40 countries around the world an academic summer,semester or yearlong opportunity in Haifa!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 9, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 114,827 other followers

Contact Us

Tel: 972-4-824-0766
http://uhaifa.org/
info@mail.uhaifa.org
Skype: haifainternationalschool
Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIN, YouTube
