Every Student Has A Story

University of Haifa International School Student Blog

Goodbye Summer, Hello Fall!

As of yesterday, October 7, I have been in Israel for two months; and, I have to say, it has been amazing! Everyday offers me either a new adventure or something new to learn. The August language program ended a month ago on the 1st of September and about 8 of us students continued to stay for the semester/year program. The rest of my summer familia returned back to their homes but of course left the memories that we created during August here in Haifa.

2

After the August program, we had three weeks of vacation until the semester began in the last week of September. During this time, I spent most of my time exploring more of Haifa and traveling to near cities like Nazareth and Jerusalem. It was fun going on these trips since I got to explore a lot on my own and I met new people along the way. So far, out of all the cities I have been to, Jerusalem has been my favorite. The first time I visited Jerusalem I was mesmerized! There is so much to see and it really offers a unique environment that really gives the city its personal detail. The culture, the ambience, the smells, and the sounds- everything is absolutely beautiful! One memorable experience that I had here in Haifa was when I went searching for a place to get a haircut. I originally got on a bus to explore around Haifa’s neighborhoods and I ended up getting off in Hadar. There I began to just walk around until I saw a hair salon. I walked in trying to speak English but the hair stylist did not speak it, so in the few words that I knew in Hebrew I said, “Ani rotseh bzzz”(I want bzzz). I said this as I imitated a hair clipper over my head and I was successfully able to get a haircut just through signing. When I look back at this moment, I say this is what makes an experience abroad, and experience. After my adventurous three weeks in September, check-in day for the new international students finally arrived. I was eager to meet everyone since it was beginning to get a little too quiet around here. I spent my first week of the semester getting to know the people and getting oriented with my classes. It has been only a week and a half since the new semester began but so much happens in so little time that it feel as if one week was two and two weeks was a month; but, I can certainly say that I am loving this experience and I am ready for this fall semester!

image-008

 

 

About haifainternationalschool

Marketing Director for the University of Haifa International School. Offering students from over 40 countries around the world an academic summer,semester or yearlong opportunity in Haifa!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 9, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 114,844 other followers

Contact Us

Tel: 972-4-824-0766
http://uhaifa.org/
info@mail.uhaifa.org
Skype: haifainternationalschool
Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIN, YouTube
