Every Student Has A Story

University of Haifa International School Student Blog

Tips and Tricks for New Students-JH

Another week has passed here at Haifa and it was a good one. I took a week to just relax, hang out with friends and enjoy a weekend in the amazing city of Haifa.

Now I am assuming that most people reading this are exciting new students, worried parents or maybe students that are already at Haifa but here are some of my tips and tricks to have more fun while at Haifa.

The first one and in my opinion most important is put yourself out there. I was here for Ulpan (the winter semester of Hebrew) so I already knew 15 or so students and had some friends. A lot of my friends didn’t go to the welcome events designed for the students getting here in February. It was here that I met for the first time the students who became my best friends, the students I play basketball with and the students I study Hebrew with. Also at Haifa, the Madrachim (Social Coordinates) plan several fun events. For example tonight we are going bowling. Go to those. A lot of my most fun memories are doing the silly activities that they come up with.

Another big tip for me is to live in the dorms. Most American students don’t have a choice but I had a few friends who lived off campus. Living in the dorms is amazing. There are two choices: Federman and Talia. I live in Federman which is the shared room type. I personally love having a roommate because I get someone to hang out with and talk to all the time. The most important aspect of it is, you could be living with any sort of person. May that person be Chinese, African or Israeli. For me that happened to be 1 Chinese student, 3 Israeli Students and 2 Americans. Just seeing the way people from different countries live is an amazing experience and in my opinion, you wouldn’t get the full experience if you weren’t in the same room.

Finally, take the time to explore Israel. It is a small country compared to America and can be traveled easily in about 7 hours tops.

See you next time and enjoy! Here is a little clip from one of the events our Madrachim planned!

 

 

 

About haifainternationalschool

Marketing Director for the University of Haifa International School. Offering students from over 40 countries around the world an academic summer,semester or yearlong opportunity in Haifa!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 114,844 other followers

Contact Us

Tel: 972-4-824-0766
http://uhaifa.org/
info@mail.uhaifa.org
Skype: haifainternationalschool
Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIN, YouTube
