Every Student Has A Story

University of Haifa International School Student Blog

Studying and Weekends Do Not Mix

It has officially been over two months since I have arrived in Israel!!! I must say, time is going by way too fast for my liking. Before I know it, I am going to have to get on a flight back to Miami. I am going through this weird combination of homesickness and wanting to extend by abroad experience as much as possible. Although Israel is so small geographically, it is nearly impossible to grasp all the cultures within it. For example, I went to Tel Aviv this past weekend for what would be my third time, and yet I still feel like I have only seen a small fraction of the city.IMG_8033

Along with a few friends, I decided to spend Purim and the following weekend enjoying Tel Aviv’s nightlife and beach. I do not know the full story behind Purim, but I do know that people dress up in costumes, and party with their friends. Who knew that the originally one-day holiday of Purim would actually last four days? Although Purim was on Thursday, I saw people in costumes starting on Wednesday, and ending on Saturday. My costume was oh-so-creative with seven shekel devil horns, and a red top.

We spent the nights partying, people-watching, and salivating over pizza (the best pizza I have had in Israel so far). Our days were mostly spent eating (a favorite pastime of ours), walking around town, and relaxing at the beach. The past three days have been immensely satisfying and gave me the time I need to unwind.

FullSizeRender (4)For Easter, I am spending my day in Jerusalem. I think it is going to be surreal to be at the Church of the Holy Sepulcher on the supposed day that Jesus came back. It also is a little funny to think that I have spent the last three days partying, and that tomorrow will have a completely different atmosphere. A little repentance for my unholy ways? Either way, this weekend is going down in the books for one of the most productive in experiences, and least productive in homework!IMG_8030

About haifainternationalschool

Marketing Director for the University of Haifa International School. Offering students from over 40 countries around the world an academic summer,semester or yearlong opportunity in Haifa!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 114,820 other followers

Contact Us

Tel: 972-4-824-0766
http://uhaifa.org/
info@mail.uhaifa.org
Skype: haifainternationalschool
Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIN, YouTube
