Every Student Has A Story

University of Haifa International School Student Blog

Final Blog Winter Vol

The end of spring semester is matching up with the beginning of a new year. It feels weird to say that I will be spending over half of my 2016 in Israel but the past five months have been a beautiful journey. I was talking to a friend that has been here since August like I have and it feels like it was so long ago. There has been so much learned and experienced. We both know that after returning to the states there will be a lot of mental processing needed, as we are still only half way to the finish line.

I was so looking forward to moving to Israel before my arrival. It was the first thing I thought about when I woke up and the last thing I prayed for before I went to bed. The day finally came with a rough arrival and an even rougher first month during Ulpan. However, I welcomed the challenges and knew that this was all part of the experience. I evolved from being completely lost in a new place to completely home sick once I was accustomed to it. This gives a glimpse of the potential journeys heading my way in the coming months, but I find transformation to be the best quality to maintain even through the difficult times.

The September Study Tour came with a new set of difficulties, more academically than anything. I learned about Israel from the unique perspective of our professor who I feel challenged a lot of what we, as a class knew about the country.

It was a relief to see the semester finally begin even though my closest friends had to leave the dorms. I felt like I was being thrown into an entirely new situation as most of the time between the end of Ulpan and beginning of September Study Tour was spent alone in my dorm.

This constant evolvement of schedules, living situations and people is unstable when I view it in retrospect. My friends will be leaving this week, my roommates will return to their village and once the new semester begins, a new batch of international students I will have to make ties with. This also comes with a slight change of schedule and an off campus internship. The constant change wasn’t something I had expected but each adjustment offers just enough time for true reflection and evolvement. The blogging has helped reframe and understand what I have seen here so I will continue next semester as often as I can. If anyone is interested in following this unique and adapting experience that is going on around me, please continue reading here in Spring 2016!

 

Sending everyone nothing but good vibes,

Gabriela

 

About haifainternationalschool

Marketing Director for the University of Haifa International School. Offering students from over 40 countries around the world an academic summer,semester or yearlong opportunity in Haifa!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 4, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 114,827 other followers

Contact Us

Tel: 972-4-824-0766
http://uhaifa.org/
info@mail.uhaifa.org
Skype: haifainternationalschool
Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIN, YouTube
