Every Student Has A Story

University of Haifa International School Student Blog

Michael’s First Week of School

First week of classes went great!  

Starting with Hebrew.  The teacher is gentle, encouraging and enthusiastic.  We had a lot of fun together asking each other questions in Hebrew, writing questions on the board and getting to know the teacher and our classmates.  It is one of the least intimidating and most interactive language classes that I’ve had.   

At the University here we are allowed to audit different classes for the first two weeks before making a decision as to which ones to enroll in!  This affords the opportunity to get a feel for the classes before making a semester long commitment.  After Hebrew I’m planning to take “Media in War and Crisis” and “Economics of the Middle East”.  

 After class today I went Downtown to the Shuk (market).  Wonderful experience!  I’m really getting to be familiar with the area, the shops, and the people.  I bought some humus, mint, avocado, parsley, lemon, peppers, tahinni, and spices, all for less then then $12 :)! Produce is so affordable here!  The different shop owners pointed me in the direction to find exactly what I was looking for.  Everyone welcomed me and helped me to feel right at home.   

Sukhot begins in four days and we’ll have 9 days off from school.  I’m planning to get out and do some serious sight seeing here in Haifa.  I’ll let all of you know how that goes.

 

Till then, 

Shabot Shalom

About haifainternationalschool

Marketing Director for the University of Haifa International School. Offering students from over 40 countries around the world an academic summer,semester or yearlong opportunity in Haifa!

One comment on “Michael’s First Week of School

  1. Michael Perdue
    October 11, 2011

    I went to the beach the yesterday… and the day before. The beaches here Rock! I’ve been to a few beaches in my life. Up and down the East Coast and the West Coast, Caribbean, Hawaii, Thailand, Japan, and India (Juhu along the Arabian Sea). I would opine, in all humility, that Haifa has some of the best beaches in the world. The sound of the water kissing the shore. The smell of the salty air, the feel of the air, the warmth of the sun, and all of the beautiful people make it a very welcoming and pleasurable experience. It’s is so very relaxing that I’m tempted to go there even if just to do my homework.

    I don’t know if I mentioned but the local fruits and vegetables here are very affordable. I’ve been making my own hummus from sprouted chick peas and tahinni. Purchasing fresh pita from the market. Guava, avocado, oranges, pomegranate the list goes on. I’ve been making fresh fruit shakes in the morning and eating hummus in the evening. ;), what can I say, I’m one happy camper in the Promise Land of Israel. I only wish that the Econ program here in Haifa were in English. Of course, then I may never leave 🙂

    Unfortunately my camera broke the other day ): That being the case I don’t have any pictures to share with you, you’ll just have to come here for yourself to experience the Beauty of Israel! As for myself well, I’m going to go make a guava, mint, almond shake 😉

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 114,819 other followers

Contact Us

Tel: 972-4-824-0766
http://uhaifa.org/
info@mail.uhaifa.org
Skype: haifainternationalschool
Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIN, YouTube
